Overgrowth (2018): There is a garden, full of weeds. They grow wild and uncontrolled, having covered almost the entire area of the garden.

A singe rose is budding amongst the weeds, struggling to reach for the sun. It tries to breath through the weight of the burdensome weeds. Will it flower, or be suffocated under the overgrowth?

Fl., Cl., Pno., Vln., Vc.

Premiered in 2019 by the Atlantic Music Festival Contemporary Ensemble


Conjunctio (2019): is a composition about the natural beauty of the elements that make up our world. Both on their own, and in combination with each other, these elements are the basis of everything we experience. 

A string orchestra is an ecosystem within itself, made up of different elements which can work on their own or come together to create a living, breathing organism. Like any ecosystem, each element has its distinct qualities, and has an important part to play in the whole. In this piece, the cellos and basses play the part of the earth, violas the part of water, second violins wind, and first violins fire. Earth is first, providing a steady groove to the piece. Wind comes in next, injecting some energy. Water comes flowing in next, with a long and arching tune. Fire comes last, leading to the final section in which all the elements come together.

String Orchestra

Commissioned by the Whispering River Orchestra


On Wings of Fire

On Wings of Fire (2018)

String Orchestra, Solo Alto, Solo Clarinet in Bb

Commissioned by the Whispering River Orchestra



Septet (2016)

Fl., Cl., Bs., Pno., Vln., Vla., Vc.

Premiered at Wilfrid Laurier University Student Composer Concert